The Chatty Introvert

Standard

LinkedIn just sent me the article “Best Career Mistake: Drawing a Blank With a Powerful Executive.” I started reading it, then cut myself off. I’ve done this. I’ve made this mistake. I’ve blanked when approached by execs, and when blindsided by hiring managers.

I talk a lot. I hate talking, I hate talking on the phone, and I really don’t like people. But I trick myself into being social during those ‘blanks’ by gabbing like a crazy person about any and everything. I hold onto the actual important things, and end up blurting them out at the end of a call, or sneaking them into an odd email. It must be a nervous habit.

I make all of the mistakes. But I think there’s a reason. Why did I blow that interview? Because another, better opportunity was right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

